miratrial

Why Your Interior Design Client Says, “I Want to Think About It”

We’ve all been there before. You spend a lot of time with a prospective client and just know you’re the right interior designer for them, and then they say, “I want to think about it.”  Your heart sinks and you wonder what went wrong. You were so sure you were a good fit.

Why did they say that? Listen up, because this is really important. They want to think about it because you didn’t give them a good way to place a value on the benefits of your services. In other words, they don’t know why they should hire you. They’re confused. Always remember this: “The confused buyer says no”.

Think about the times you were in the market to buy something and you didn’t. If you were not clear about why you should buy something – what will it do for you? How will it solve your problem? – Then you won’t buy. You’ll do nothing.

It’s no different with your prospective clients. You need to maximize the value they see in your services so not only do they select you over other designers, but they pay more for your services, too. You’ll hear me say this a lot because it’s so important: “The more value your client sees in your solution, the more they’ll pay for it – period.”

So strive to build as much value as possible in your client’s eyes. One way to do this is to show how you can solve their problem better than anyone else. What do you do that will help your client achieve their goal better/faster/more easily than anyone else? The more you articulate this, the more value you’re building in your client’s eyes. And when you build value, instead of hearing, “I want to think about it,” you’ll hear, “When can we start?”

To learn more ways to build value, join Maria Bayer & Gail Doby for a complimentary teleseminar, Discover the Secret Formula to STAND OUT from Other Designers & Communicate Your Value So Your Prospects Are Willing to Pay TOP DOLLAR For Your Services! on Tuesday, September 25th at 6pm EST (5 pm CST/ 4 pm MST/3 pm PST).

Maria Bayer, the Authentic Sales Coach for Design Success University, shows interior designers how to take charge of their clients and make more money without being sales-y.

About the Author
I'm a super energetic person that has lots of new ideas always floating around in my head. I own two businesses, Dandelion Interiors and Minutes Matter and enjoy both of them. One business satisfies my need to use my creative design talent and the other satisfies my need to help others to develop their technology skills. I absolutely love my church, my family, my two granddaughters, technology and cooking.

Leave a Reply

*

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.

captcha *